top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturelemwhitmer

Your Place at the Table, October 2, 2022

Luke 17.5-10, Pentecost 17C

Theme: World Communion Sunday



It occurred to me the other day as I was meditating on the scripture text found in Luke 17 verses 5 through 10 that I have always had a place reserved for me when I was ready to eat a meal. Even when traveling and not being able to stop at a restaurant, I have always had a sandwich, or something prepared for me. Most of the time (but not always) that meal was prepared by someone else who cared enough for me that they remembered to serve me.


I now realize I have lived a blessed and privileged life. I know a very few among the populations on this planet have had the privileges I have taken for granted.


There is something everyone reading needs to know.


No matter what. No matter where. No matter when.


There is a meal prepared for you – and a place has been set which has your name on it.


It is your place at the table.


This is a fitting theme to add to the celebration of World Communion Sunday. On this special Sunday Christian churches of all denominations will serve communion. It is an act of solidarity which has been practiced for over a century.


Communion is a Sacrament practiced by all churches who recognize Jesus as their savior. It is a reflection and recognition of Jesus’ last supper with his friends. Participation in the service by a Christian is a way of solidifying a connection to the saving power of Jesus and God’s power over biological death.


By the partaking of the bread, Jesus’ flesh becomes the flesh of the Church. By partaking of the wine (grape juice) Jesus’ blood flows with life giving power through His Church.


In this way, by partaking, we as individual followers become integral to the living Christ.



Worship with us in person at 10:30 AM as we will be meditating on what Jesus Christ has prepared for us. The service will also be streamed live on the internet -- (https://fccmaryvillemo.com) or on the church’s home Facebook page. If you miss the live stream, a recorded session is also available to view at your convenience. Want to make a comment on my blog? Click on https://fccmaryvillemosanc.wixsite.com/ftdo

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page