top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturelemwhitmer

Only the One, Sept 18, 2022


Luke 16.1-13, Pentecost 15C

Theme: One God


When I was a child, I lived in a village located on a series of hills surrounded on three sides by miles of swamp land and on the other by a three-mile-wide river. The village is called Lotumbe in one of the poorest countries in the world. The country is now called The Democratic Republic of Congo (The DRC). Even today, some 65 years later, there are no roads to that isolated place.


To me, cars and trucks were something one read about in books and magazines. I remember spending hours memorizing the various models of vehicles. They were a marvel to me. To think one could go someplace without walking was like a pipe dream.


Now, at the age of 74 living in a country where no one goes anywhere unless they travel in an automobile or truck still holds a certain marvel. I enjoy traveling in vehicles. It would be very easy for me to dedicate all my interest in such things as cars. They could even become idols.


Because of this ‘fetish,’ I can appreciate the words of warning which comes from Jesus when he says, ”No slave can serve two masters; for a slave will either hate the one and love the other, or be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and wealth.”


We need to be very careful where we place our allegiance. There is in reality only one.


Worship with us in person at 10:30 AM as we will be meditating on where we place our allegiances. The service will also be streamed live on the internet -- (https://fccmaryvillemo.com) or on the church’s home Facebook page. If you miss the live stream, a recorded session is also available to view at your convenience. Want to make a comment on my blog? Click on https://fccmaryvillemosanc.wixsite.com/ftdo

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page